Calorie apps rarely put their prices on a web page, and the ones on the App Store change with offers and tests. So we checked 15 of the most popular ones on the same day, October 11, 2026, using each company’s own pages first and its US App Store listing second. We make Calorix, one of the 15, and list it first so you know where we stand; the rest are in alphabetical order after the cheapest-plans table below.
The cheapest yearly plans
Only prices that a company publishes, or that its App Store purchases label with a plan length, are included. Lower is not always better: a cheaper plan may leave out the features you want, so check the free-version column above too.
| App | Yearly price (US) | Free version? |
|---|---|---|
| BitePal | $19.99 to $59.99 | Not stated |
| Yazio | $23.90 or $47.90 | Yes |
| Calorix | $39.99 | Yes |
| MyFitnessPal | $49.99 on the web, up to $79.99 in the app | Yes |
| Fitia | $53.99 to $59.99 | Very limited |
| Cronometer | $59.99 | Yes |
| MacroFactor | $71.99 | No |
| Lose It! | $79.99 | Yes |
| Zero | $89.99 | Yes |
| Lifesum | $99.99 or $119.99 | Limited |
| SnapCalorie | $149.00 | Yes, 3 AI logs a day |
Not ranked, because they publish no yearly price: Cal AI (commonly $29.99 a year, according to a third-party guide), Foodvisor (no fixed price; App Store rows don’t say the plan length), Fastic and Simple.
What you get for free
Twelve of the 15 apps have a free version, but “free” means very different things. The barcode scanner is the clearest line between them:
| App | Free barcode scanner? | Free photo or AI logging? |
|---|---|---|
| Calorix | Yes, unlimited | 3 AI scans a day |
| Cronometer | Yes, unlimited | No (Gold) |
| Yazio | Yes | No (Pro) |
| Foodvisor | Yes, per its terms of September 2026 | No (Premium) |
| MyFitnessPal | No (Premium since 2022) | No (Premium) |
| Lose It! | No (Premium) | No (Premium) |
| Fitia | No | No |
| SnapCalorie | Not stated | 3 AI logs a day |
Sources: Cronometer, Yazio’s App Store listing, Foodvisor’s terms, MyFitnessPal’s help center, Lose It!’s help center, Fitia, SnapCalorie and our barcode scanner page, all checked October 11, 2026.
Why the same app can cost different amounts
- The App Store only shows part of the picture. Each listing shows at most 10 in-app purchases, often without saying how long a plan lasts, and the list can change between page loads: on October 11, 2026, Cal AI’s and Lifesum’s pages each showed two different sets of rows.
- Apps test prices. Lose It! says prices vary with “seasonal promotions and how often you use the app”; Foodvisor says its price depends on your country, the platform and “ongoing promotions”.
- The website can be cheaper than the app. MyFitnessPal Premium is $49.99 a year on its website and up to $79.99 a year as an in-app purchase.
- Countries differ. App Store prices are set per country and currency. Everything on this page is a US price before tax.
Refunds: who decides
For anything bought on the App Store, Apple decides refunds, through reportaproblem.apple.com (Apple Support). For purchases made on an app’s own website, the company’s policy applies, and they vary widely:
| App (website purchases) | Refund policy |
|---|---|
| Lose It! | Full refund within 5 weeks (also for 2026 US in-app subscriptions billed by Stripe) |
| Yazio | 14-day right of withdrawal |
| Zero | Within 30 days, case by case after |
| Simple | Within 30 days; $29.99 fee to leave a commitment plan early |
| BitePal | Within 30 days of the first payment only |
| Foodvisor | Within 14 days |
| Lifesum | Within 14 days |
| Fitia | Within 48 hours |
| Cronometer | No refunds, reviewed case by case |
| SnapCalorie | No refunds |
Each app’s help center or terms, linked from the main table, has the details.
How we checked
For each app, we read its pricing page, help center and terms, then loaded its US App Store page 12 times to record every set of in-app purchases it showed. We use a company’s own published price first; otherwise only App Store purchases whose name gives the plan length. A third-party figure appears only where no official one exists, and is labelled as such. We re-check these prices every month and note changes below.
Change log
- October 11, 2026: page published, with 15 apps checked on their official pages and US App Store listings.
Updated October 11, 2026